style

A checkered jacket ….

Hello again, sorry I’ve been very inactive lately!

I’ve been so busy with work and school not to mention the never ending annoyances that life throws at you!

As the colder months are slowly approaching the excitement of retreaving my winter coats and gilets from the forgotten wardrobe is arising. However, before we get to the mind numbing cold weather lovely Britian treats us with every year, Autumn is to content with. Therefore today, I’m going to be talking about of course, a checkered blazer. A forgotten staple to every wardrobe. There’s something fabulous about having a jacket, which only bears a slight resemblance, but a resemblance none the less to the blazer worn by Alicia Silverstone in Clueless, especially may I add when teamed with a collard white shirt.

fadfa83e-f729-4d9d-8dda-c57e6c79721e-2060x1236.jpeg

Swarve.

I’m a great fan of checks, there’s not many days you’ll catch me without a piece of clothing with a slightly checkered or hatched pattern! It’s certainly a weakness of mine, therefore it is only human of me to believe it is vital that everybody own at least one checkered jacket!

Checks, plaid, chequered board checks you name it, a check is a check and there’s not many days you’ll catch me without a piece of clothing with a brill version of the pattern as the main body. 

The main step to finding one you like is to know in an instant that it’s for you! Like many classic pieces of clothing, the only certain way to know it is for you and only you, is to love it the minute you lay eyes upon the piece. It becomes your mission to make it yours! No matter what the cost. When you find this jacket, buy it and never let it go.

The brilliant thing about a checkered jacket is you can literally do anything with it, dress it up, dress it down, wear it to the supermarket if you want?! My two favorite ways of wearing mine is with of course a simple white shirt, the one I’m wearing is from Polo Ralph Lauren // Custom-Fit Oxford Shirt but I do believe a white shirt is a timeless piece, something that will never go out of style. A pick me up even on your worst of days, this means it’s important to find one that fits your body and one you’re comfortable with and if that means searching for the perfect one, then so be it!

Another is of course my black turtle neck from Zara that goes with absolutely every piece of clothing that I own! Possibly why it is my most worn and loved piece of clothing. I usually team this with a pair of black skinny jeans or sometimes some relaxed rolled up skinnies. My usual footwear depending on what mood I’m in is an old worn pair of converse (there’s something about a scruffy pair of converse that adds personality to any outfit) or my painful Doc Martens that I am slowly wearing in, despite this I do love them and never hesitate to add them with this look. Of course finishing it off with lipstick of your choice, however red lips suit this look very well, not forgetting some delicate jewelry (and an understated watch), and if you’ve got a few piercings don’t hesitate to wear odd earrings, it ties in something…. I think they call it character

Thank you so much for reading!

I hope to be writing more frequently from now on,

Jess X

Leave a Reply

